Benefit Candy Coated Countdown Advent Calendar 2014. Review: Day 4.

Main

Day 4 door

Hoorah! I’m a happy blogger today! 🙂

I opened door number 4 this morning to find the very understated Stay Don’t Stray “stay-put primer for concealers and eyeshadows” in shade light/medium (they also do a medium/deep).

Day 4 product

There isn’t much room on the dinky little bottle to make any claims about what the product does but it’s pretty self-explanatory, right?! Well, I thought so until I put it on.

I applied 4 small blobs under my right eye (the Benefit site says you should use 3 but I didn’t look at that until later), using the angled wand applicator and blended it with my finger. My plan was to test it as a concealer and eyeshadow primer, not as a product in itself although as soon as it was blended in under my eye I was sold. Seriously, this stuff is amazing. I don’t know whether or not it’s just that it is the perfect shade for me but my under eye circle (not circles – I only applied it on the right remember) disappeared completely. Amazing! I didn’t need to put any concealer on over the top and I won’t in the future, but I did so that I could write up a proper review. I’ve bought lots of concealers in the past and a number of them help with under eye circles but I’ve never had a product work as dramatically as this and it isn’t even a claim that seems to be made with any vigour. The Benefit website includes a beauty tip about wearing it alone to even out discolouration and under eye circles but that’s an aside and isn’t how the product is marketed. What a happy side effect! 🙂

Anyway, back to its use as a primer… I also applied a few small dots of product to my right eyelid and blended that in too. I then allowed it to dry for about 20 minutes before applying my eye makeup.

Instantly I noticed that it had smoothed out my skin which made applying makeup easier and made the colour pop. The colours looked very different on top of the primer as it effectively created a blank canvas and didn’t allow any natural discolouration to show through. You get to see the true colour of your eyeshadow. By way of an example, look at this fairly uninspired brown applied to the back of my hand both with and without the primer:

primer

If you click on the photo to maximise it you will see the subtle shimmer in the eyeshadow. That shimmer doesn’t come through without the primer. You also need to use less eyeshadow to get a decent colour, so this product might even save you money in the long run (bonus, eh Claire?) 🙂

I wore it as a primer all day and my eye makeup on the right looks exactly the same now (12 hours later) as it did this morning. In contrast with that, the makeup on my left eye has pretty much gone.

I am absolutely sold on this and think I’ve found a new favourite. Move over Touche Eclat!! Although it’s not a concealer/highlighter, Touche Eclat is the product it will replace in my makeup bag.

There’s another fantastic bonus. I don’t know how but this little bottle of gorgeousness made the bridge of my nose look slimmer. I think it must be because it brightened and opened up my eye so much. I don’t have a problem with my nose but it was noticeably different on the right than on the left, so if you’re a little self-conscious about your nose this might be a good product for you.

As you can probably tell, I’m chuffed to bits with this and it almost makes up for day 1 disappointment. I’ll be adding this to my Christmas list!

Amazability factor: 10/10 (Wowzers)

PS I know this isn’t really a concealer, but do you remember those bad makeup habits I mentioned yesterday? Concealer should be applied after foundation, not before!

10.12.2014 PPS (is PPS a thing?!) for any of you following the comments below, Amy has sent me a picture of the Clinique applicator she mentioned. Here it is (click to maximise). It looks like it will be lovely and cooling on the eyes. I want to try it!

clinique

7 thoughts on “Benefit Candy Coated Countdown Advent Calendar 2014. Review: Day 4.

    1. You should get one! We have similar colouring so I think it would be a good colour on you too. You might be able to get a tester pot from somewhere or try it at the Benefit counter in Boots. It’s fab. 🙂

      Like

  1. As well as my Lemonaid – I now own It’s so Potent; Erase Paste; Boi – ing and the above Stay Don’t Stray. It’s early days yet, but so far the bonus is that I am finding you don’t need to use a lot of any of the products to achieve results.

    As per our usage conversation, I’ve been applying the It’s So Potent First (before my BB cream) then Stay Don’t Stray, followed by the Erase Paste.

    I need to get the before application/after application/end of day photo to document results properly!

    I have noticed a little ‘sitting’ in my ‘laughter lines’ but I’m not sure whether this is just because I’ve recently become more aware of them!

    I also remembered that I still have a full tube of ‘Clinique – All About Eyes’ that I bought from duty free! I quite like the applicator for that as it massages the under eye area and feels soothing, but it looks a bit ‘wet’ on.

    Anyway, I’ll keep you posted!
    x

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Good to hear you’re trying new things and yes – please keep us posted! Can you post a picture of the Clinique applicator? You’re the second person who has run a Clinique/Benefit comparison in discussion about my blog! I used to use Clinique eye shadow back in the day (and Clinique Happy which I still think smells beautiful) but I don’t feel I’ve given their range a proper run! Perhaps I need to try a wider selection. xx

      Like

Leave a Reply

