Benefit Candy Coated Countdown Advent Calendar 2014. Review: Day 16.

 Main

door 16

First of all, let’s talk about contouring. A couple of months ago I had a frustrating conversation with someone who insisted that you should highlight the hollows of your cheek, underneath your cheekbones. She was so insistent, I gave up. You do what you want, love. I’ll highlight my cheekbones instead.

Anyway, the idea is that you highlight those parts of your face which naturally catch the light (forehead and brow bone, down the centre of your nose, cheekbones (on, not under!) and cupid’s bow) and add bronzer to your natural contours (underneath cheekbones, along the hairline and just under the jaw). I always apply my bronzer in the shape of a number 3, starting right at the hairline at the top of my forehead, coming down the hairline at the sides, in under the cheekbone, back out to the hairline and in again just under the chin. You can also apply a little bit to the sides of your nose if you want to make it appear slimmer. Applying bronzer in the shape of a number 3 is so quick and easy you’ll get into the habit in no time.

Back to highlighting and in particular High Beam which is today’s advent calendar prize.

photo 3 (1)

I have a different Benefit highlighter called Watt’s Up and I contemplated making today’s blog a comparison between the two but I decided to wait in case Watt’s Up appears behind one of the other doors.

High Beam comes with a little applicator like a nail polish brush and is easy peasy to apply. After foundation and powder (and after bronzing as above, if you’re contouring properly), just add a few dots to the areas you want to highlight and blend with your finger. It goes on nicely and as it doesn’t dry instantly it blends easily, leaving you with a lovely subtle pink shimmer. It’s lovely. Have I said lovely too much? Well, it is.

Here it is, on the back of my hand. Lovely, huh?

photo (8)

It’s not O.T.T. like some highlighters; it just subtly reflects light. You could wear this every day. If I was going out for the evening I might apply more than one coat. I don’t like saying things like that. It sounds like I’m talking about varnishing a table.

High Beam is perfect for those with fair to medium complexions. There’s an alternative called Sun Beam for darker skin tones.

Amazability factor: 9/10 (lovely!)

One thought on “Benefit Candy Coated Countdown Advent Calendar 2014. Review: Day 16.

Leave a Reply

