Benefit Candy Coated Countdown Advent Calendar 2014. Review: Day 17.

Main

photo 1 (8)

As you can see, today is another disappointing ‘prize’ (a notebook) :/

Amazability factor: 2/10 (only more than 1 because I love stationery)

Instead of leaving it at that, I thought I’d take the opportunity to introduce you to some of my favourite recent discoveries which now make up my ‘home spa kit’.

I mentioned beauty boxes the other day. That’s how I’ve stumbled upon some of these. They’re not all everyday products, unless you’ve got megabucks. Keep them for a special treat and you’ll feel thoroughly pampered without the salon price tag.

facial

Let’s start with the body. I’ve been using Sanctuary Spa Green Lemon & Orange Blossom body which was a beauty box bargain. It’s not something I would have picked up from the shelf in Boots as I tend to go for floral fragrances, but it’s absolutely lovely. It smells of spa. I don’t know how to describe it better than that. It just smells of spa! It’s gorgeous and makes skin feel really soft. Make sure you apply it to clean dry skin. Applying it to damp skin will make it go all ‘bitty’ (lol).

Now for the face…

Cleanse:

Tropic Organic Hot Bamboo Smoothing Cleanser.

I was looking for a new cleanser so asked my beauty therapist what she could buy for me. This was it. It’s absolutely gorgeous. It comes in a pump action bottle, with an Organic Bamboo Cloth. It smells fresh and clean, is lovely (there’s that word again) to apply and feels luxurious. You massage a modest amount onto dry skin, wet the cloth with very hot water and use it to steam the skin while removing the cleanser. Then rinse the cloth and allow it to dry for next time. It is unlike any other cleanser I’ve used and I’m obsessed with it. It leaves skin feeling incredibly clean and fresh.

Treat:

Elemental Herbology, Facial Glow Radiance Peel.

Apply to damp skin with your fingers, applying gentle pressure in a circular motion all over your face and neck. Leave on for 4 minutes and remove with a hot, wet face cloth. This will remove dead skin cells to reveal radiant skin underneath. It claims to “stimulate cell metabolism” but I don’t know about that. I just know it leaves skin feeling nice.

Tone:

Melvita Eau Extraordinaire, Rose.

This is another beauty box discovery. It smells incredible. It’s rose in a bottle and I love the smell of roses. It’s slightly heavier than other toners I’ve used but still very liquid and pleasant to apply. Use a cotton wool pad and apply to face and neck. Leave for 5 minutes or so to dry before moving on to the next step.

Serum:

L’Occitane En Provence, Essence Sublime.

Yet another beauty box treasure. This serum can be used as a primer too and minimises the appearance of pores. That’s a claim it makes and (I’ve found) delivers on. It makes your skin feel soft and really smooth. The dinky little bottle I’ve got comes with a cute little spatula but the full sized version comes in a pump action bottle. You don’t need to use a lot. Just dot it around your face and neck and massage in with your fingers. There is a hint of rose about the fragrance so it works beautifully with the Melvita toner.

Moisturise:

Since 12th December I’ve been using Benefit Total Moisture facial cream (see day 12 blog) which is great for a home facial treat as it’s really thick and luxurious. I’m happy with it as a night cream although as I said on day 12, it’s not suitable for daytime use as it takes a heck of a long time to sink in. You can’t apply makeup over the top without risking it sliding off half an hour later. However, if you’re doing this home facial thing properly you’ll be doing it in your onesie after a nice hot bath anyway, so this will do the job.

And then… relax and enjoy!

Lou x

Leave a Reply

