Boots No. 7 Advent Calendar (2014) Review: Day 1.

** HAPPY NEW YEAR!!!! **

I hope 2015 brings you happiness.

Another year, another blog! This time I’m looking at the No. 7 2014 Advent Calendar.

No 7 main

I have to confess, I’m actually writing this in December. It’s 30th. I thought I would give myself a bit of a head start and then if there is the odd day in January when I don’t feel like blogging, I don’t have to. I can still publish daily.

Benefit got day 1 so wrong. How did No. 7 fare?

day 1 main

Better… much better! It’s a decent sized bottle of Skin Illuminator, described as “radiance boosting beauty fluid.” It is designed for use either on its own or under foundation. I applied it on its own this morning and I liked the result. It’s got just a touch of golden shimmer which highlights features naturally. You won’t look stupidly golden like Stevi Ritchie in his rather memorable Egyptian outfit. Your cheekbones will just appear subtly more defined. I found that the place you choose to start is where the highest concentration of product ends up, so I suggest starting with your cheekbones and working outwards from there. Add bronzer/blusher over the top (in the right places – see my earlier post about contouring) to complete the effect and you’re good to go.

Here’s a blob on the back of my hand. I think you can see how it catches the light. Pretty, huh?

day 1

As I said, I applied it this morning. It’s 8pm now and it’s still looking good, so it’s quite long lasting and will certainly see you through a 9-5.

I’m not sure how it would fare under foundation. I suppose that will depend upon how much coverage your foundation of choice gives. I use only light foundation so it would probably show through that but I suspect the effect may be lost under full coverage foundation.

I don’t see why you couldn’t use it over the top of foundation as an alternative. As per the Benefit highlighters, you could add a couple of dots to your cheekbones etc and blend with your fingers.

I’m happy with this on day 1 and I have high hopes for the rest of the calendar.

When I first opened it this morning I was really pleased to see that the doors are much larger than those on the Benefit calendar. Hopefully that means more decent sized products. Today, the bottle is 10ml which doesn’t sound like a lot but you need to use such a small amount (a pea sized amount for your whole face) that 10ml will last weeks.

Amazability factor: 6/10 (a respectable start)

Lou x

PS There will be a giveaway coming soon, so keep your eyes peeled!

Leave a Reply

