Boots No. 7 Advent Calendar (2014) Review: Day 21.

First of all, welcome newbies and good luck everyone in the competition! If you receive this post by email you have already earned one entry. You can earn more (up to 20) by referring others as per the terms and conditions but please make sure that you ask your friends to let you know when they have subscribed as a result of your referral and let you have their email address. That way I can make sure everyone gets the entries they’ve earned.

For those of you who have been following the blog, please forgive this preamble. I won’t keep repeating it!

For the newbies… in December I opened and reviewed Benefit’s Candy Coated Countdown and in January I am doing the same with Boots No. 7’s 2014 advent calendar. We are on day 21 today …who would have guessed it..? 😉

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

Today another one of my faves – eyeliner. This time it’s Stay Perfect Metallic Eyes Pencil in (surprise, surprise…) black. Well, actually it’s called ‘Blackest’ but I would say it is more of a deep slate grey. Again, it’s MAHOOOOOSIVE for an advent calendar prize. It’s full size. I had to take it from a wide angle to fit it in the pic!

photo (30)

It claims to be “soft and creamy” and a “long lasting pencil (which) glides on for maximum colour intensity and shine.” It’s hypoallergenic.

The pencil is a sharpenable one, not a twist/push up liner. You also get a (very firm) smudger on the other end. The liner does indeed glide on. It’s really easy to apply and instantly I love it. The colour intensity is fab and it looks particularly lovely on the upper lash line.

As it is so easy to use and so creamy, you can get really close to the lash line which makes it easy to do the feline flick. Don’t worry – it’s also easy to remove mistakes with a damp cotton bud!

It’s quite a dramatic liner so perhaps would work best with a nude lip. Dramatic eyes and lips look a bit too ‘try hard’ in my opinion. I think it’s best to go for one or the other, concentrating the drama on the feature you want to draw the most attention to. It’s a bit like the boobs or legs rule (never both!)

It’s also great in terms of staying power. 6 hours after application it looks almost exactly the same as it did this morning. The only sign of wear is on the inner part of the lower lashline (which in my experience doesn’t retain any liner for very long. Let me know in the comments if you’ve found otherwise!) Where it has touched my skin rather than inside my eyelid, it still looks flawless.

I really love this. I definitely want more of these bad boys.

Amazability factor: 9.5/10 (it would probably be a full house if I’d tried a bolder shade)

Lou x

Leave a Reply

