Boots No. 7 Advent Calendar (2014) Review: Day 22.

Anyone who knows me in real life knows how much I love nail polish so won’t be surprised to hear that I was VERY excited to find this richly coloured nail polish behind door number 22. It is B.E.A.Utiful. ❤

nail polish

(yes, that is Ellie sleeping in the background!

http://www.facebook.com/pages/Ellie/112261492122606?fref=ts)

It’s No. 7 Gel Look Shine nail colour in Deep Wine.

It’s so gorgeous, I skipped the fake nail and got stuck straight in. Here it is on my real life nails, after just one coat.

nails 1

GORGEOUS. It’s a beautifully shiny bold red. Great coverage in just one coat.

After two coats…

nails 2

A deeper shade – more wine coloured. Still beautiful and super shiny.

The shine was so lovely I was reluctant to add a top coat. On this photo I’ve got a top coat on my index finger (top, in case you can’t tell) but not my middle finger. I used a high shine top coat so as not to spoil the overall effect and I think it added to the overall look.

nails 3

I used Rimmel Finishing Touch Ultra Shine Top Coat although my Nails Inc. Kensington Caviar Gel Effect Plumping Top Coat would have worked just as well (if not better). I applied it to only half of my nails so that I could test the nail polish out in terms of staying power both with and without top coat.

As you can probably tell, I really like this. However, I was very disappointed by its lack of staying power. Still being a little ahead of myself with the blog, I was able to apply it last night. By mid-morning today it was quite badly chipped on both the nails with and without top coat. 😦 If you’re going out for the night and want gorgeously looking nails then this will do the job. The colour and finish is amazing. However, if you’re applying polish for work the night before, regrettably I’d say stay away.

Perhaps if I had used the Nails Inc top coat it would have lasted longer. I will have to give it a go.

Amazability factor: 7.5/10 (I so loved this, but it’s let down by fragility)

Lou x

One thought on “Boots No. 7 Advent Calendar (2014) Review: Day 22.

Leave a Reply

