Boots No. 7 Advent Calendar (2014) Review: Day 25.

photo (34)Initially when I opened the door I thought this was a lippy and was just a tad disappointed when I realised it was a nail polish duo. As I’ve already said, I love nail polish but the wine coloured polish I tried on day 22 was a let-down in the staying power stakes so I wasn’t left with a particularly positive opinion of No. 7 polish. It would have been lovely to find something completely different behind door number 25.

That said, I do think it’s a great idea to have a duo with complimenting colours and the shades are nice (particularly the bright coral pink). They are (gold) Hot to Trot and (coral) Cheeky Chops.

photo (35)

As you’d expect, the two brushes are in the centre so you unscrew the middle and hold the other colour between your fingers, applying it as if you’re holding a pen. Is it weird to say it’s comfy to use?? I think you’ll know what I mean by that. It feels solid in your hand and you’re able to apply the polish with precision. If you’re using both colours it’s also very easy and convenient to simply flip it to apply the second.

I’m still ahead of myself so I can report back on staying power. Again… disappointing. The first signs of chipping appeared after just over 12 hours.

The colours are lovely and if you want a striking look for an evening out, apply it before you go and you’ll be fine. You won’t be disappointed unless you expect it to look the same the next day. It won’t.

Amazability factor: 7/10 (marks for ingenuity and colour. Lost marks for lost polish.)

When I’d opened the last door on the Benefit Advent Calendar in December, I totted up how much I would have been prepared to pay for all of the items if I’d bought them individually. In that case, I reckoned I had overpaid by £12.50 when buying the calendar. There were a lot of ‘filler’ items in the Benefit calendar, but none here.

This time, I’ve definitely underpaid. I’ve been keeping track of how much I’d have paid for each item as the month has gone on and even taking into account the disappointing aspects of some of the items, I would have been prepared to pay more than £50 more for the individual items than I paid for the calendar! Wowzers!

As much as I love Benefit products, I’ve enjoyed this calendar more and felt I was really getting my money’s worth, receiving several full sized items and lots of Protect & Perfect goodies which usually cost a bomb! This calendar definitely represents the best value for money.

Here is my No. 7 haul:

photo 1 (24)

That brings me to the end of this daily blog. I will be back again soon, but not tomorrow!

Don’t forget to keep sharing the blog and Facebook competition post to increase your chance of winning the giveaway beauty bundle. Good luck and speak soon.

Lou x

3 thoughts on “Boots No. 7 Advent Calendar (2014) Review: Day 25.

  1. I’m yet to find a boots own range polish thats any good. They never have any staying power at all – shame.
    On a brighter note – I’m loving your blog
    D
    xx

    Like

    1. Thanks Duffy, glad to hear it! 🙂 As far as nail polish goes, I have my eye on Orly Colour Blast next. Yes, it costs a bit more but at least you know you’re getting a decent polish which will last longer than a few hours! I particularly like the pink/blue shade but there are a few pretty ones. If you haven’t seen them yet, check them out. They’re lovely. Lou xx

      Like

Leave a Reply

