YOU Beauty Advent Calendar 2015 Review. Day 11.

A blast from the past today – it’s something I last used when I was a teenager! It’s Lipcote lipstick sealer, worth £3.99.IMG_6511

I can’t really remember how effective this was back in the day but I do know I always had it in my makeup bag, so it can’t have been all bad!

So to test this today, I wore a lippy I don’t often wear. It’s Max Factor’s Modernist Pink. I love the shade (it has a blue base, obviously!) and the only reason I don’t wear it more often is that it doesn’t last long enough to qualify as a low maintenance option. In my experience when worn alone it lasts around 2 hours before showing signs of wear.

The Lipcote is easy to apply. You put your lippy on, blot and repeat. Then you apply Lipcote over the top and slightly beyond the lipstick. It’s slightly tingly. Make sure you keep your mouth open until the Lipcote has dried.

The claims are that it will make your lipstick smudge proof, fade proof and kiss proof.

I applied it at 7.45am and kept checking every now and then. It wasn’t until 4pm that I started to see the first signs of wear. That’s pretty impressive! I didn’t eat during that time so it hasn’t really been put to the test on that front but I had a couple of coffees.

Even at 4pm, it looked pretty good. The only signs of wear were in the middle. By 6pm however, the colour had all faded aside from at the outer edge.

If I hadn’t been testing this for the blog I’d have just reapplied the lipstick at 4pm. Touching it up after 8 hours definitely still qualifies as low maintenance! Taking a lippy which would ordinarily start to fade in a couple of hours to one with 8 hour staying power is incredible. Particularly for the bargain price of £3.99!

My only real gripe is the fact that as the brush picks up the lippy colour, you have to keep wiping it off. If you didn’t, the Lipcote would end up coloured which would taint your lippy. I don’t suppose there’s much that can be done about that though!

It’s definitely less hassle to use a lippy which lasts well on its own but in lieu of that, this will do the job. I didn’t expect to rediscover an old favourite after X years but I have. This has earned its place back in my makeup bag.

8.5/10

Lou x

P.S.  If you fancy trying Lipcote, follow the instructions properly. If you don’t apply/blot and repeat the Lipcote won’t adhere properly and won’t be so effective.

 

Leave a Reply

