YOU Beauty Advent Calendar 2015 Review. Day 12.

My eye makeup looked a bit too glam for the office today due to this little treat.

It’s a black eyeliner – Pixi’s Endless Silky Eye Pen in BlackNoir. It’s a mini version (although not small), worth around £8.00

FullSizeRender (36)

This Pixi pen packs a punch! The slightest touch produces a remarkable amount of eyeliner. It’s soft and easy to smudge upon initial application although claims to be ‘no-smudge, no-budge’ long-lasting liner, so shouldn’t smudge further as the day goes on. It goes on a bit like a gel. This particular shade is a very deep black although it comes in some other lovely colours.

When I took it out of the calendar last night I got so carried away with it I ended up drawing a spider’s web on my face. It just feels so niiiiiice!

It wasn’t easy to remove (the absence of a spider’s web might have helped) and I would have had to rub my eye too much for my liking with my usual cleanser so I got out the waterproof eye makeup remover. It was easy to take off with that.

I tested it properly today. It’s 8.30pm and I’ve only just removed my makeup. All of my eye makeup, including the liner, stayed put from 7.30am to 8.30pm. There was a teeny weeny smudge in the corner of one eye which I first noticed at around 5pm but no one other than me would really have noticed. The liner’s staying power is quite impressive.

I really like this but I would have preferred a different colour (I’m boring myself now, saying the same thing over and over – SOMEONE HAND ME A GREEN EYELINER, STAT!)

I have so many eyeliners at the mo I’m not in the market for any more but as and when I do need to replace one, I’ll definitely bear Pixi in mind.

8/10.

Just before I go and while we’re on the subject of eyeliner, there’s a little trick I’ve been meaning to tell you about for ages but I keep forgetting. I love the feline flick. One of the things I like about it is the fact that it adds definition to the base of your lashes, giving your mascara a boost and making your lashes look longer. As I’ve not mastered that technique, I’ve been cheating by adding black eyeliner to the waterline of my upper eyelid instead. You just have to (very, very gently!) lift your eyelid and apply a black kohl liner straight to the waterline. You don’t have to be precise about it. It isn’t an obvious look but makes a subtle difference which definitely makes your eye makeup pop.

I showed a friend how to do this a few months ago and she cringed at first. She hated the idea of having to lift her upper lid (“Eeeeaaawwwww!!!”) However, I showed her what a difference it made and a few days weeks later she told me she’d been brave and done it herself. Now she’s a total convert! Give it a go. Try it on one eye and you’ll see the difference. If you do, let me know in the comments how you get on.

However, PLEASE don’t do it everyday! I only do it every now and then because I’m mindful of the fact that the skin around the eye is so delicate. No matter how gentle you think you’re being, your skin won’t thank you for doing it all the time.

Lou x

One thought on “YOU Beauty Advent Calendar 2015 Review. Day 12.

Leave a Reply

